[24/06][NEWS] Juniel was inspired to become a singer after watching a documentary on BoA

Posted: 2012/06/24 in Uncategorized


Since making her official solo debut at the beginning of the month with her mini-album, “My First June,” Juniel has been dubbed by the media as the next IU due to her acoustic guitar skills and cute outlook. In addition, she was also responsible for writing over half of the tracks on her debut mini-album.

She has been promoting her title track, “illa illa,” on various broadcasting music shows, which has been moving up the music charts each day.

Juniel said, “It’s such an honor to be compared to IU, who has become a highly sought-after singer since her debut four years ago. It’s truly more than I deserve.”

It has also been revealed that Juniel was inspired to become a singer after watching a documentary on Asia’s star, BoA. BoA’s hard work in Japan, which resulted her in topping charts, inspired Juniel.

Juniel was signed onto a management company in 2008 after participating in an audition, and later debuted in Japan in 2010 after winning a contest hosted by a magazine. This allowed her to perform live stages and concerts, releasing 2 indie and 2 major single’s in the country.

“I moved to Japan because I wanted to study music in a place with a larger market featuring more diverse genres of music. I went on stage three or four times a week and even joined in busking street performances. What I liked the most about the experience was being able to interact with members of the audience. I want to convey everyday emotions through my music so I can show my true self. I hope I can show various sides of my personality, from my girlish charms to my wild side,” she said. “Then people will ultimately stop seeing me as ‘the next so-and-so.'”

Source: Chosun via Koreaboo

Leave a Reply

